Reviewing your outcomes!

Posted: June 23, 2011 by merryl in Uncategorized

hi all,

I want to check in with you and see if you’re feeling like you’re making progress toward the DREAM outcomes!  Here are a few of the outcomes below….are you getting there?!  What more do you need?!

DREAM teachers will be able to…

(key skills within the arts – things teachers will be able to do and  demonstrate through institute activities.)

  • Make a tabletop puppet and props
  • Create and perform a tabletop puppet play
  • Lead a theatre game
  • Direct a scene or page from a story or poem
  • Draw a portrait
  • Illustrate a main idea from a story or poem
  • Create an art “book” as alternative to book report

And….how are you doing with regard to your arts vocabulary?!  Knowing the arts standards for your grade?! 

 

 

Comments
  1. Charles Finn says:

    Since I came in with a solid theatre background, I’m feeling pretty confident about a lot of the outcomes. I think I need to spend more time looking at the different kinds of puppets; how to make and use them. I’d also love to explore the use of found objects in the classroom as props, scenery, or even puppets. Puppetry On A Budget 101 – that sort of thing. ;). And, of course, I could always spend more ti e with the standards, especially applying them to specific stories and projects. That’s a never-ending activity!

  2. Nickie Rail says:

    I feel like I am learning a lot. I feel more confident in the visual arts though.

  3. Elaine says:

    I am making progress toward these goals. The visual arts goals have been the most challenging, but I will continue to work on upping my comfort level.

  4. L.G. says:

    I’m feeling great and excited about everything I’m learning, However, I’m a little overwhelmed with thinking about how I’m going to implement everything. I guess I need to take a deep breath, a step back, and then plan out the visual and performing arts connections into the stories and/or units. And, of course, I need to remind myself that I have all year to teach the standards.

    • merryl says:

      step by step! We have definitely provided you with an overwhelming amount of possibilities! Pick and choose the activities that will work for you…and then of course…go one step further!

  5. Julie Romero says:

    It seems like we’ve covered most of the outcomes except maybe Illustrating the main idea of a story or poem. As for the art vocabulary, we’ve covered some things but certainly not all of it. I noticed though when I was planning my lesson yesterday that there is a glossary of art terms in the back of the Framework so we certainly know where to go to find what we don’t know.

  6. Kathy says:

    I am feeling more confident in being able to implement all of the outcomes in my classroom. I feel more competent in some of them than others, but I am inspired to give all of them a try.

  7. Julie Brackx says:

    I feel pretty comfortable making puppets. I have supplies set aside at home ready to go! I want to practice my own drawing skills and techniques before I try and instruct the students on a drawing project in class.

  8. sandy says:

    I feel pretty confident in the area of visual arts. However, in the area of theater, I’m feeling very challenged. In regards with the puppets, as of now, I really have no ideas as to how I’m going to use them in the classroom. In my district we are supposed to follow strict time lines and I feel the time crunch as to when I could take the time to make the puppets during classroom time. I have learned a lot this week and I’m planning on using a lot of the theater games/activities in my classroom.

    • L.G. says:

      I feel the same way about the strict time lines so I will have the kids make at least one puppet in class so they can learn the techniques. I will probably ask the kids to work on other puppets for homework. I will also create character puppets that the kids can use in class.

    • merryl says:

      I think this would be a great item to discuss with others her at the institutue….what ways can you either find time to make puppets..or what other ways can you “use” puppets without having to make them?! Yes – time is (unfortuantely) an issue in teaching and learning…

  9. Jean Morris says:

    I definitely have been renewed with integrating the arts into the classroom. I have been engaged all week and, even though I may say I’m tired, am anxious for the next event. Need some time to complete puppet show, but otherwise feel I’ve accomplished the goals of the institute with success.

  10. Margaret says:

    I feel that I can check off all the objectives, but I will definitely need to do them all again SOON. I have certainly stretched myself this week in both the visual arts and theater arts.

  11. Debbie says:

    I think I’m making progress in all areas. This is a lot to take in and I’m trying to figure out how to apply these varying fine and performing arts ideas at opportune times in my curriculum and instruction. At this point I’m thinking of trying to hit one area with each story so varying the VAPA standards throughout the whole year. I’ll have to process this information and apply it based on the type of story and which art will go best.

  12. karolbickel says:

    I’m feeling more confident everyday!

  13. Wes Sechrest says:

    Things are coming along. I am in a very talented group and we are working well together. Go team!

  14. Jim Chapman says:

    I am happy to see how closely the outcomes align with what we actually have done already. On the one hand I could see more of a focus on how to apply what we have learned in the classroom, but on the other hand that really is our area of expertise and I think we should have no problem with that.

  15. Mary Raymond says:

    This morning I was worried about the time, but you found it, and gave it to us. Thank you!

  16. Shannon says:

    I feel very confindent that I am making excellent progress toward meeting all outcomes.

  17. Sara says:

    Looks like we have covered a lot throughout this week. It is exciting to see how we will be able to incorporate the arts into our classrooms.

  18. Rebecca Vogel says:

    I have learned so much more than I expected. There are bits and pieces of everything I’ve learned that I can take back into my classroom. Personally, I never thought I’d be able to make a face and now I can!

  19. Jackie Algazi says:

    I had a bunch of ideas on what to do in the classroom. Our district has a media contest at the end of the year, between the Ipod touches and what I learn here I will make my students create plays that will be entered in the Media Festival. These will be recorded with the use of the IPod touches!. Excellent week, loved every minute of it!

  20. Elizabeth says:

    I am having a blast! I can’t wait to bring this into this classroom next year. Soooo excited!

  21. Leandra Nunez says:

    I’m very eager to choose 2 or 3 things I’ve learned this week and try to share them with my students. I’ve learned so many cool ideas and would love to try them all, but I realize choosing 2 or 3 and spending time with them will better serve my class. I’m very apreciative to this program and the opportunity to learn some simple yet universal ways to implement the arts into the classroom.

  22. Lisa says:

    Lots of great information, hope I remember everything when school begins in August!

  23. donna says:

    I am being exposed to so much and can’t wait to implement what I am learning with my students. I hope that I continue to feel this excitement throughout the year!

  24. Jennifer says:

    I am overwhelmed by the theater standards. I agree with many that time is a precious commodity, so integrating the arts without feeling like I’m sacrificing too much is the challenge. While I certainly see the value in using the arts to teach within other subjects, it’s not necessarily easy to find the time to create and honor the time needed for quality products.

  25. Barbara Jackson says:

    I am enjoying everything that we have done this whole week. Things are coming together where at first I didn’t have a vision of how it all went together. Even though school just ended, I am already thinking of how I will use all of these wonderful ideas next year.

  26. ap. says:

    I can’t wait to go back to my classroom and try all that I have learned. I am very exc

    ited!!

  27. Lawrence says:

    I have always loved the arts. I feel like the institute has renewed my desire to include the arts in my class.

  28. Heather says:

    I think that I am learning a lot of new things and I am getting some great ideas to use in the classroom. The ideas and projects are things that I would not have thought of on my own or felt comfortable doing prior to the institute.

  29. Ramirez says:

    I’m so happy to work with the wonderful group of ladies that I’m working with… Diane, Lisa, Liz, Debbie, Jean, and Elizabeth thanks for making our project fun!

  30. Patricia Johnson says:

    I feel I have learned a lot as well as reviewed some things I learned when I was part of the Suave Program. I appreciate that this has been a fun, yet practical week. I am looking forward to using some of the things I’ve learned and practiced in my classroom.

  31. bc says:

    Wow! This week is flying by! As a repeat customer, I can say that I’m much more comfortable with the outcomes this year. I needed more practice and the instruction in all the workshops was fabulous. The group process and challenges posed have helped so much! Thanks for a very positive learning experience!

  32. mraymond says:

    I’m feeling more comfortable with the thought of doing these activities with my students. Thanks so much for giving my confidence a boost!

  33. Diane says:

    Sorry mraymond. I forgot to change the email and name for the posting. Oops!!

  34. Rosa Venegas says:

    I wish we had more time, to see more examples, make more props, and drawings (for example).
    This has been a very exicting week , professionally and personally. Thanks!

  35. Myrna Gonzalez says:

    I have learned a lot and its been FUN! I know that I will take a lot back to my classroom to implement. I still feel that I need more practice with the theatre aspect, but I know that with my students we will make it work and it will be FUN! I tend to expect perfection from me, but I’ve learned that “it is what it is”. The importance is that we have fun with no pressure. 🙂

  36. Norma Rathgaber says:

    This summer institute is absolutely wonderful! I have learned so much in one week. I am confident that I will be able to use everything that I have learned with my students next year regardless of what grade it is. I can’t wait to share what I have learned! Thank you to all our DREAM instructors.

Leave a Reply

