Friday morning news and favorite activities!!!!

Posted: June 24, 2011 by merryl in Uncategorized

Good morning DREAMers!  My oh my, we’ve come a long way!  Can you believe we are day 5?!  I’m feeling lots of things – inspired, happy, a teeny bit tired (yep, even me), a little overwhelmed, and really encouraged by your great energy, questions, and committment!  I wish I could be a student in your classrooms! 

So, today you’ll be working on your puppet shows, lesson plans, and more!  To help out your planning for the year I’ve prepared a quick worksheet that I’ll hand out in the a.m.  Look back at the institute schedule online or in your binder and review all we’ve done, and all the people we’ve met!  Say, “OMG!”  Then, on the paper I hand out,  write down:

Activities That I really like and will use:

Activities that I would love to try:

Activities that take little time to implement:

Activities that are more time-consuming, but I would like to use:

Please also post some of your favotite activites here on the blog!  It will be fun to read each others’ favorite activities!

A few more thoughts – wasn’t if fun to “meet” Sara on skype and get the inside 411 on Clementine?!  And, Laurie’s presentation on visual literacy….I am constantly blown away with illustrations in books!  I suspect I’m just a big kid at heart – finding joy in  how the magic in books is created.  Alright – that’s probably enough – I look forward to reading your Friday reflections and seeing your puppet shows!!!!!!

-merryl

p.s. please subscribe to this blog!  It is easy – sign-up on the DREAM page!

Comments
  1. Charles Finn says:

    Way too many great things to mention them all! The guest presenters were all fantastic, and each day has managed to be better than the day before. 🙂

    I was blown away by Laurie’s presentation -Amazing insight into Where The Wild Things Are. Likewise, I was seriously impressed by all the artwork I saw in the afternoon. This is the most creative group of people!

  2. L.G. says:

    I have learned many wonderful ideas to implement. The guest presenters were very insightful and they gave me different perspectives about books. I have always been a closet children’s book writer. My students are the only one’s who have enjoyed my stories. I think hearing and learning everything I’ve been taught has inspired me to continue my journey to write a children’s book.

    • merryl says:

      I say, “go for it!” And, maybe your students can start writing stories too – and illustrating them!!!!
      hmmm….could be really great!

  3. Lilly says:

    I am so happy to be a part of this awesome program. It has been a great learning experience and has definitely broadened my creative breadth.

  4. ap says:

    I have really enjoyed all of the activities! I hope to attempt all of them at some point during the year! I thought Sara was inspirational and I love Clementine! What a great character, especially after hearing more about her from Sara. Laurie’s presentation was wonderful. Already bought some of the books (on half.com) that she shared! I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed this workshop! I have learned so much and can’t wait to use all that I have learned! My students are going to be so excited!

  5. Julie Romero says:

    I loved both of our guests yesterday. Laurie’s insights on the illustrations and the meaning behind them as well as the changes that occur were so interesting. I know that I’ll be looking much more carefully at the illustrations from now on. Sara’s heart for wanting kids to be able to tell their stories, and for her to tell their stories for them before they are able to tell their own, is beautiful. I see that this needs to be a real motivation for us. I loved hearing about her process, it was quite eye-opening for me to see how her passion for writing plays out in her life.

  6. Jackie Algazi says:

    Activities That I really like and will use: I would like to have my kids work on symmetry and face proportions, which I have never done. I would get pictures from magazines, then I would take half the face off and have kids using symmetry to draw the other side. If time allows i would have kids, untape the side printed and try to draw what they drew on the other side. If ther is no time just the first part.
    For the theater part: I would like to develop a couple of plays one mid year and one at the end and film them. I would like to maybe Abdul Gasazi or The Giant of Barletta, towards the end have kids do Pepita talks twice or Papa’s New pants.
    I will let you know as time goes.

  7. Barbara Jackson says:

    I loved making the puppets and the triorama. I will definitely use both of those activities throughout the year. I would like to try making a book and a portrait. Using cartoons to retell a story and using the storyboard to summerize the story would be a good warm-up to a writing activity. Doing an entire puppet show will be very time consuming. I think I will try it but need to plan on doing later in the year.

    • merryl says:

      And, I liked how the storyboard also translated to the filming of the puppet shows! In terms of puppet sows…there are also ways to create the shows so they take less time…perhaps using already-made puppets and less elaborate sets!

  8. Lisa says:

    All of the guest speakers were fun and intersting, with many great ideas! Not sure where to begin or where to place the focus. Right now I need to digest everything that has been presented to me!

  9. bc says:

    Let’s keep that kid-at-heart alive, right! I loved the enthusiasm of both Kim and Sarah’s Q and A sessions. I couldn’t stop thinking about if there was an inciting incident or person who helped them that sparked this passion…And how we best serve our ADD/ADHD and special needs kids.

  10. Nancy says:

    All speakers were SO motivating and each brought such passion and perspective especially to me. I consider myself such a novice and now I come away from this week with much more confidence. What a great group of talented and dedicated teachers who know the importance of arts integration! Can’t wait to invite my principal into my classroom in September. She will, no doubt, want to join in the theater activities herself!

  11. Patricia Johnson says:

    I really liked the puppet show production. It combines both the visual arts and performing arts. The whole Dream Institute has been so amazing. Instead of going home exhausted, I have left each day feeling creative and positive. I hope I can bring this energy to my classroom and balance the “Have-to’s” with some creative expression. All of the speakers were wonderful.

  12. Julie Brackx says:

    What a great experience this has been!
    I loved the puppets, and trioramas, and already have started planning and prepping for these arts lessons for next year. 🙂

  13. Myrna Gonzalez says:

    I have truly enjoyed every thing that we have done throughout this week! Although my favorite aspect that truly will be easy to implement in my classroom is bringing the portraits to life. Also the poems, and the face portraits…..OH everything!!!! Super Star Whoosh…. to all the presenters, teachers, and especially you Merryl for having so much passion to “The arts”.

  14. cramirez says:

    I loved all of the activities that were presented to us. My favorites were the making of the puppets and the video taping. Can’t wait to get started!

  15. Myrna Gonzalez says:

    I would make toilet paper roll puppets to go with a characters from a story. The warm up activities are so great. Some are especially useful for ELD as well. I think that the time to organize a set and put on a scene from a story will be a challenge, but I’m going to do it.

  16. Rosa says:

    I’ve always preferred visual art activitiies, but after this week, I can see that the threatrical section is very important. I will be sure to include it more often in my classrooim.

  17. Kathy Johns says:

    I loved almost all of the activities and will be using them in my classroom. Visual art is something I really enjoy and I am motivated to include more of it in my class this year. In the area of the performing arts, I am reminded of my “drama in the classroom” class in college, and am anxious to get back to some previous lessons I have done, as well as try out the new ones I have learned.

Leave a Reply

