DREAMing Graduation!

Posted: June 24, 2011 by merryl in Uncategorized

Ta Da!  you’re graduating from the DREAM Institute!  Congratulations! On behalf of the entire DREAM team:  I have soooooo enjoyed getting to know you – and am inspired and encouraged by the enthusiasm and dedication  you have exuded all week!  I imagine all the wonderful opportunities you will add to your teaching next year – and I can already see all the smiles, see the motivation in the kids, and hear the laughter in your classes!  LUCKY KIDS!  All kids should have such opportunities to be in a class with teachers who can engage them in learning, and enable their passions!  You go teachers!  And, know you’ve got your DREAM team right with you supporting you all the way!

Comments
  1. Leandra Nunez says:

    Thank you for inviting us and sharing your passion! I will be “picking” your brain this next school year 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Thank you to all that are the driving force for the Dream Institute, well done! I look forward to continued learning and growth for all of us that dream the dream!

  3. sandy says:

    I am very excited about next year. I think the kids are going to love having a coach coming in to do things that normally would not be done because of either time constraints or lack of knowledge from my part. I CAN’T WAIT!!!!

  4. Charles Finn says:

    Thank you, Merryl and everyone, for an exciting and motivational week! I liken coming to DREAM after my school year to Dorothy landing in Oz and opening the door onto that new, technicolor world. I’d better stop the simile there before I get into trouble… ; )

    Thanks again!

  5. Nickie Rail says:

    Yeah! So much fun! I really think my kids will enjoy more art! And I am excited to see how it helps their learning! =)

  6. Jackie Algazi says:

    Thank you again , It was fantastic!!!!Learned tons this week:-) thank you for adding Merryl’s support for those of us that did not get a coach.

  7. Jennifer says:

    I appreciate knowing that the federal government has funded what I believe to be a valuable opportunity! Thanks for your enthusiasm and positive energy, even when I was doubtful in my ability to portray a dog with just four colleagues and a piece of fabric!

  8. Nickie Rail says:

    I also wanted to add that I had a class with Meryl at CSUSM back in 2002 where we did a puppet show and out of the 40 or more classes I took in college, I can always look back and remeber our puppet show.

    I am hoping to do the same (encourage memorable experiances through the arts) for the students in my classroom next year!

  9. L.G. says:

    Thank you for your passion in keeping the arts in schools. I truly believe it’s important for students and everyone.

  10. Heather says:

    Again, it was a great week that took me outside of my comfort zone and still made me feel successful in the arts. I hope to be able to allow my students to feel the same!

  11. Myrna Gonzalez says:

    Super Star Whoosh…… to each and everyone who had a part in putting this amazing institute together. Thank you for allowing me to share in your passion and in having this wonderful opportunity to learn and have F-U-N, fun!!!!! 🙂

  12. Nancy says:

    Thanks SO much for a wonderful week of experiences, activites, and just inspiration to continue making our classrooms a place where children can’t wait to get to each and every morning! Thanks to all of the wonderful presenters for sharing their passion for the arts and their expertise. It is all truly appreciated.

  13. cramirez says:

    Yay!!! This has been the best workshop I’ve attended… by far!

  14. donna says:

    Thank you so much. This was a very fun and informative week!

  15. ap says:

    Thank you so much. I loved the Dream institute!

  16. Kathlee says:

    Thank you Merryl and the entire group for a FANTASTIC week of engaging and hands on learning. I am looking forward to including more art in my class to help my students learn. I know they will enjoy learning more and have a deeper understanding of the curriculum. A coach will help me to keep the art focus throughout the year. Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  17. Julie Romero says:

    Thank you for continuing to promote arts integration in the schools. We all appreciate your leadership, Merryl (and team.)

    One idea: Since so many other 3rd and 4th grade teachers have gone through the institute in the previous two years, I would love to see some of the great projects they’ve created already for each of the H-M stories. I know there are lesson plans, but there is nothing like seeing examples, pictures of what’s been done already to inspire us. I am so visual that whenever I see something beautifully done, I want to do it as well.

  18. Diane says:

    Thank you so much for establishing this nurturing environment and exciting program. It has been amazing!

  19. Patricia Johnson says:

    I was disappointed last year when I was accepted to attend and had to be excused due to needing to help my Mother with surgery last summer. I have been looking forward to coming for several weeks and have not been disappointed. It has been a lot of fun, and I am glad that I have had the opportunity to be here.

  20. Julie Romero says:

    I just wanted to add that I appreciate the technology piece. Responding to the blogs and seeing others’ responses has been helpful. And I love that much of the material we viewed or heard is on the website as well. Thanks!

  21. rebecca vogel says:

    This experience was “AWWWESOME!” Thank you so much for your hard work and dedication as well as to all of the DREAM TEAM.

Leave a Reply

